Poem #1

One says:

I do not speak

People only use words to lie

And voices waver, weaken, and disappear over time

I grew tired of speech

So I threw it away

One says:

I do not see

Sight only brings pain

You see the ugliness and disparity of the world

I grew tired of sight

So I threw it away

One says:

I do not hear

The only sounds are of need

Beggars and in-complacent citizens crying out

I grew tired of hearing

So I threw it away

Another says:

I do not cry

That is a sacrifice of the heart to emotions

In the end leaving you nothing but weakness

I grew tired of tears

So I threw them away

A long time ago

*Note: I am not really sure if this qualifies as poetry, but I didn’t know what else to call it.

3 thoughts on “Poem #1

Leave a Reply

