Fairy Tale

Once upon a time there existed a beautiful maiden and a terrible monster. One day the terrible monster came across the beautiful maiden by the creek washing laundry. “To have such a beautiful maiden as my own, what a thing that would be!” He said to himself.

Approaching the fair maiden, the monster bid her a good day. Without being frightened by the monster’s hideous appearance, the maiden calmly replied. Sitting himself next the bank, the couple talked of the weather and crops until the maiden finished her task.

“I must go now.” Said she.  

“Do not leave me,” Bid the monster. Springing up, he gripped her shoulders and held her close. “You are the only one who does not shy away from my appearance. In the short time we have spent together I have fallen deeply in love with you. Marry me.”

“I cannot,” The fair maiden testified.

“You must. Come with me or I will steal you away by force.”   

“How cruel it would be for you to take me away.”

“But I must have you.” He tried to convince.

“I love you, I do. But I already belong to another whom I also love, but more dearly and deeply than you are capable of. Should you take me now none of us shall ever be happy. Leave me and endure loneliness alone, so that I at least will have a chance to know happiness.”

The monster subsided and released the maiden. “I will never know love.”

“Perhaps not,” The beautiful maiden stated. “But if you wish me well and send me on my way with your blessings, you may know happiness.”

So with his blessings away the monster sent the maiden to the one she truly loved. She lived happily for the remainder of her life and died content. The monster himself led a content life, visiting the maiden from time to time, and died without regret; but forever after meeting the maiden, only to let her go her own way, did he carry a pot of sorrow within his heart incurable by all.

Leave a Reply

