Desperate

“Why don’t you like me?” I sighed dramatically, rolling my eyes. I hated conversations like these. So why did they always seem to find me? “ I’ve tried everything,” He was saying. “ I’ve matched your ideal type five different ways and still you won’t go out with me. Why?”

“I just don’t like you.” I folded my arms.

“But why?” He asked desperately. “I have to know a specific reason. Am I too flirty? I tried to get your attention… I’m too forceful aren’t I? I can be shy.” His eyes brightened. “I can be shy and quiet and—”

“I don’t like shy guys.”

“Tell me who I should be then.” He begged. “ You’ve strung me along for who knows how long, making me try this and making me try that. I’m getting tired of waiting.”

“So I am.” I yawned.

“I can be anything you like except your boyfriend.” He spewed. “Why are you still here then? It’s because of your friends, isn’t it? You’re friends hate me so you won’t have anything to do with me, right?”

“Not at all.” I scoffed. “I’m fully capable of making my own decisions.”

“Then date me!” He yelled. I wanted to throw a chair at his face.

“Keep your voice down. Getting angry doesn’t solve anything.” I hushed.

“I really liked you.” He said, suddenly serious. Looking me up and down his eyebrows furrowed. “ I’ve given you everything and more for nothing. I’ve been a fool and that’s all. Fine then. If you don’t plan on being with me then leave.”

“Excuse me?” I asked, blinking rapidly.

“You heard me.” He said. Nodding to the door, he smiled. “Walk out that door. It’s over.”

I gasped. “It’s over? What’s “over”? There was nothing to be over to being with.” Despite my flair he continued to smile. I huffed, grabbing my purse. “Fine then. Just don’t come crawling back to me when you realize what a mistake you’ve just made.”

“If imagining that satisfies you,” He nodded. It was unnerving.

Stomping away I swung open the door and slammed it shut behind me.

2 thoughts on “Desperate

Leave a Reply

