Little Red Wolf

Once upon a time there was a little girl in a red cape. She visited her grandmother regularly, who lived in the woods and stubbornly refused to move to town, bringing her various food stuffs her mother had baked. One morning she found a trip was called for and the little girl set out through the woods carrying a heavy basket over her shoulder, stamping over the ground in the early morning light.

“Hey,” a voice came from a nearby cluster of leaves. The sudden noise startled the girl and she dropped the basket, spilling the food over the ground. “Hey, little girl,” the same voice came from over her shoulder. Spinning on her heels the girl came face to face with a man, great in stature and presence. Grinning, his sharp teeth filled her vision and caused a shiver to run up her spine.

“Who are you?” She asked, clutching her red cape around her shoulders against the sudden chill.

“Just a guy looking for some fun…” he trailed his eyes up and down her figure. “Where are you heading?”

“To my grandmother’s house,” setting her jaw the girl bent down to pick up the dropped food. The man knelt next to her.

“To grandma’s?” He said, following her every move. “That sounds promising.”

The girl huffed. “If you don’t mind I’d like it if you moved on.”

“Move on to where? I’m a bit of a loner you see,” he said in a sorrowful tone. “So I’d like to keep you as company.” Watching the girl pick up a block of cheese he reached out and took it from her, swallowing it whole.

Huffing again the girl stood, taking the basket with what food she’d gathered. Trudging on it wasn’t long before she heard the heavy footfalls of the man catching up to her. “Was it something I said?” He smile as he put his arm around her shoulder.

“Please don’t touch me.” Out of fear to have, the girl now simply found the man annoying. He chatted the rest of the walk until, standing before her grandmother’s front door, she turned to him. “Leave me alone,” she shouted. Stomping her foot she shoved him away.

“Aww, don’t say that. I’m sure your grandma will love me.”

“Where did you even come from?” Sighing, she rang the door bell.

“Over the river. I’m glad I found you.”

“Just please don’t eat my grandma; she’s quite old and doesn’t have much meat on her bones.”

“I won’t eat your grandma, but I can’t say the same for you. You’re so cute!” He reached out and pinched her cheeks as the front door opened, revealing an elderly woman dressed as a tablecloth.

“Grandma,” the girl sounded less than enthused.

“Who is this?” The elderly woman looked up at the tall man standing next to her granddaughter with wide eyes.

“I don’t know.”

“I found her in the woods.” He grinned. “She was lost.”

“I was not.”

The woman looked between the two and smiled. “You finally have a boyfriend!” She exclaimed. Inviting the two inside she set out milk and cookies, expecting to hear all about their first meeting and future plans together.  

Leave a Reply

